Lorde: Renewed Energy 

Lorde’s highly anticipated third album, Solar Power, is out August 20th. After taking a look back, now it’s time to look forward to the next phase of Lorde’s music. 

The lead single, ‘Solar Power’, was featured on our New Music Radar. This single feels like the perfect preview into what to expect from the rest of the album. The song is more light-hearted and hopeful when compared to the rest of Lorde’s discography. The follow-up single, ‘Stoned at the Nail Salon’, showcases growth through reflection. 

The title Solar Power is fitting. Solar energy is harnessing the energy of the sun and converting into electricity. There was usually a break between albums for Lorde, but this last break was felt harder among fans. Her social media came to a halt after her tour in 2018. The break between Melodrama and Solar Power created a fresh start. Solar Power most likely will reflect on that time away.

This eco-named album is no accident… Solar Power will be available in a discless format and a Music Box option. Besides being eco-conscious, there’s more exclusive content that will be available: handwritten notes, exclusive photos, and two bonus tracks. A download card will also be available. This is true Lorde…thinking forward and changing how we listen to music.

In a press release, Lorde shared the following:

“I decided early on in the process of making this album that I also wanted to create an environmentally kind, forward-thinking alternative to the CD. I wanted this Music Box product to be similar in size, shape and price to a CD, to live alongside it in a retail environment, but be something which stands apart and that’s committed to the evolving nature of a modern album.”

Solar Power Tracklist:

1. The Path

2. Solar Power

3. California

4. Stoned at the Nail Salon

5. Fallen Fruit

6. Secrets From a Girl (Who’s Seen It All)

7. The Man with An Axe

8. Dominoes

9. Big Star

10. Leader of a New Regime

11. Mood Ring

12. Oceanic Feeling

Lorde’s 2022 tour supporting this new album is already sold out! Moments after the tickets went live for the US/UK dates, they quickly sold out. Lorde is what we need during this pandemic and going forward into new territory, in music and life.

Image courtesy of Travis Yewell

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s